History | Institute of Administration

The Institute of Administration was founded in 1947 as a Clerical Centre and incorporated into Ahmadu Bello University in October, 1962. It has from the date of its incorporation developed into an Institution with a dual function. First, as a College for Undergraduate, Postgraduate Studies and Research, and secondly, as an in-service training centre. The Institute of Administration is the oldest Institute of higher learning in West Africa devoted to the teaching of Management or Accounting, Administration and Law. The Institute houses the University’s Faculties of Administration and Law and the Centre for Islamic Legal Studies .


  1. To provide professional training in administration, finance and Law.

  2. To aid in the modernization of management systems and practices in both public and private sectors. Specifically, the initial function of the Institute were:-

  3. To provide courses of Instruction leading to Diplomas, certificates, and other disciplines.

  4. To provide special training for government, local government employees, and private individuals.

  5. To conduct In-service Training for Area Court personnel of Northern Region. The Centre for Islamic Legal Studies in addition to running Diploma and Higher Diploma in Islamic Law is also engaged in training judicial staff and conducting research activities.

  6. To hold conferences and seminars on subjects relevant to its areas of activities.

  7. To carry out research and consultancy services in the fields of management, accounting, administration and Law.


The Administration vission information.


The Administration has grown tremendously over the years and now has staff strength of 261 academic staff which includes 50 fully fledged professors, 16 Readers, 40 Senior Lecturers, 38 Lecturer I, 29 Lecturer II, 62 Assistant Lecturers, 27 Graduate Assistants, 83 Senior Technologist/Technical Staff, 36 Senior Administrative and 7 Junior Staff in the Nine Departments.


The Institute of Administration is part of Ahmadu Bello University and functions under a Board of Governors and a Director. Membership of the Board consists of:

  1. The Vice Chancellor as the Chairman.

  2. The Director of the Institute of Administration.

  3. The Deans of the Faculties of Administration and Law.

  4. Two representatives of the Senior Staff of the Institute elected by the Senior Staff.

  5. A representative of each of the Northern States appointed by State Governors.

  6. Not more than three (3) members co-opted by the Board each of whom shall be a person of distinction in the fields of Management, Law and Local Government and Administration.

The functions of the Board may be summarized as laying down policy and providing general guidance and review of Institute’s activities. The Director is the Administrative head of the Institute and he is deputized by a Deputy Director.

A Professional and Academic Board, being chaired by the Director and consisting of Deans and Directors, Departmental heads, etc. exercises general supervision over the academic and research activities of the Institute..

© 2015 All Rights Reseverd | Ahmadu Bello University Zaria | Institute of Administration